Caring for Winter Skin + Giveaway ends 3/1

The temperatures drop, the wind blows, the snow falls and your skin takes a beating. Dry, itchy, chapped, cracked, are just a few adjectives used to describe winter skin, but with just a few steps, you’ll be able to beat that winter chap and restore the moisture and lively glow to your skin.

1. Moisturize your body from within, along with any skin care regimen, it is important to keep your body hydrated, drinking the recommended amount of water per day will help your overall body health.

2. Exfoliate! The body has a process of its own to dispose of dead/old skin cells, but as you get older or with different skin conditions the process can be slowed down a bit. Leaving your skins appearance looking dull and dry on the skins surface. However, using gentle scrubs that are packed with natural good for your skin ingredients such as our Splendor of Grapefruit, the granular texture of sugar will help to remove dirt and toxins from the skin’s outer layer, gently exfoliating dead cells while the jojoba oil will work to replenish the skin of its lost moisture. Mainely Cole’s has a great assortment of both Sugar and Dead Sea Salt Scrubs to help aid any skin care regimen.

3. Moisturize your skin. When your skin is parched, one of the best ways to quench its thirst is to moisturize. Look for lotions or body butters which contain products like glycerin which help skin lock in the moisture and smoothing out the skin like our Kelsey’s Lavender Lotion or Sister’s Body Butter. These also contain a variety of natural oils that will provide a protective layer  to skin and maintain moisture.

4. Protect your skin while battling winter weather. Wear gloves, apply sunscreen, and use some form of lip balm or a Nourishing Lip Creme on your lips to protect from chapping.

5. Try to avoid extremely hot showers and use natural soaps that contain moisturizing ingredients while bathing. Be sure to avoid soaps that contain harsh chemicals that can dry out your skin even more.

Do you have any helpful Winter skin care tips?

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Signature

39 thoughts on “Caring for Winter Skin + Giveaway ends 3/1

  1. I think the best thing you can do for your skin is to not smoke, drink a lot of water, and moisturize- especially in the winter if you have dry heat. Sometimes you might even want to run a humidifier if your skin is drying out too bad.

  2. i drink lots of water during these harsh winter months! I would love to try emmas shampoo and conditioner! I love my hair and am always looking for new great products for it!

  3. I think something important to remember during the colder months is to moisturize more frequently. I find that my hands get so terribly dry in the winter because I wash them much more frequently (cold/flu season). I find that I can combat super-dry skin by moisturizing immediately after washing my hands, which allows me to lock-in some of that moisture. I will also use a heavy-duty moisturizer at night when it has ample time to sink in to my skin and work while I sleep.

  4. My tips: Water, water and more water! Though, for me, it’s so much harder to be consistent with my water intake in the winter than in the summer. The trick? Room-temp water is so much easier to drink in the colder months than cold water. (Also, to survive the cold/flu season, I pray, add a touch of lemon juice to my water and keep up with my daily multivitamin.) Moisturizing body wash is a must followed by your lotion or body butter right out of the shower. Your skin is still soft and the pores are open and ready to drink up whatever you put on it more effectively than at any other time. Get plenty of sleep (skin as a whole always looks and feels better when you’re rested) and if you can deal with it, get a humidifier for your bedroom to help fight the drying effects of the central heat. I can’t because it’s more important for me to ensure my naturally curly hair doesn’t frizz up! 🙂

  5. I moisturize really well right after a shower when my skin is still damp…it helps to lock in the moisture! It helps a lot in the winter.

  6. My tip for winter skin is to exfoliate during your lukewarm shower and then use body butter after . Always use all natural or organic products to free yourself from damaging chemical to your skin. (the largest organ of your body) I would like to try Mainely Cole’s body mist in honeysuckle next.

Leave a Reply

